How it begins

Two weeks ago I dashed into a record shop with a friend who wanted to pick something up quickly but while he was busy looking for his CD I became utterly enchanted with the music they were playing in the store. On the second track I couldn’t contain myself anymore. What’s this you’re playing I asked with big wide eyes –  and she showed me this

DevotchKa – How it ends

                                                                       

I’ll take it I said with a massive grin and rubbed my musically greedy hands together. It turned out only to be 12.50 euro – I almost bought ten to give out to friends, family, neighbours and strangers alike. Hmmmm, maybe I will still.

As soon as I got home I played the whole CD and then started again when it finished. I was intoxicated. It’s like My Morning Jacket, Goran Bregovic, Beirut, and Calexico all rolled into one. With a little dash of black icing sugar sprinkled on top. Wonderfully atmospheric. I did some devilish internet research on the group and discovered to my combustible joy that they were playing in Amsterdam in two weeks time. This cannot all be a coincidence surely. My guardian muse was surely looking out for me. The concert is tomorrow. There’ll be guitars, trumpets, accordions, pianos, and possibly something called a sousaphone. I can’t wait.

6 responses to “How it begins

  1. Ooh J’ADORE Calexico!

    Will I like this, do ya think?

    Might have to check it out.

    Have a super duper time at the concert, and tell us how it goes

  2. I’m sure you will – it’s like the music to a dusty old circus

  3. Pingback: How it Ends - My Favourite Albums of 2007 « Conortje and Music

  4. Pingback: How it ends « Conortje

  5. Pingback: Alan Says » Blog Archive » Top Songs of 2007

  6. I have not checked in here for a while since I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are really good quality so I guess I will add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend.

Leave a Reply

