Album of the Month – January 2008

The Audreys – Between last night and us

What a fortunate discovery this was. Almost completely unheard of on this side of the world this album was released already as far back as 2006 in their home country Australia. I bought it a couple of months ago after reading a review where the reviewer practically insisted that the reader stop reading and go out and fetch the CD. So being the obedient music lover that I am, I did.

I wrapped my Christmas presents to this (a welcome antidote to the usual Christmas crap), listened to it travelling home for the holidays, it was the first CD I put on when I got back and it’s been played almost every day since. I am completely incapable of describing styles of music I must admit. Does this come under Americana, even though they’re Australian? But then I hate the term Americana. Well, Between Last Night and Us is a bit country as they might say themselves (‘I’ve gone a bit country since I met you’) but only a bit. The music is wonderfully buoyed up with banjos, violins, acoustic guitars and the exquisite voice of Taasha Coates. At times it’s almost Sufjan Stevens meets The Cardigans, but it’s so much more organic and original than that.

All twelve songs are stunning with Long Ride being an instant classic in Conorland. Such a consistently great album is sadly rare to find and this debut is a stunning accomplishment. It’s a difficult one to find but most certainly worth the search. Incidentally, the entire artwork of the cover and booklet is the best I’ve seen in years with photography and design that couldn’t suit the music any better.

Buy it here, I simply insist.

2 responses to “Album of the Month – January 2008

  1. I’ve been listening to this quite a bit over the last couple of weeks. I usually preserve it for work listening. I LOVE banjo and violin!

  2. Glad to hear you like it ;-0

Leave a Reply

