Album of the Month April

Sara and Tegan – The Con

This is a perfect Conortje album. One I liked upon first listen and one that I can’t stop listening to ever since. It just gets better and better with each play. The Con has the perfect blend of quirky, rocky, funky, dirty and poppy. If I had ordered a sound to make me happy this is what would have come out. In fact I would go as far as saying it’s one of the best albums I have heard in years.  With The Con they’ve mastered the perfect packet. The production is 100% perfect – not a beat too much or a harmony too little. It’s a total joy to listen to something this good.

If I was pushed to describe them I’d say they were like a rockier CocoRosie and yet much more melodic and consistent that those particular siblings. What these two groups share (apart from both being a set of sisters) is a slightly bonkers element of fun.

But at the end of the day it just comes down to good songs and The Con is bursting with them. Relief Next To me, Are you Ten Years Ago, Back in your Head and Like O like H being my current favs.

You can buy the album here. Hurry, hurry!

One response to “Album of the Month April

  1. Pingback: Favourites Albums 2008 « …

Leave a Reply

