Andrew Bird, De Duif, Amsterdam 25 November 2008

Has there ever been a better reason to go to church than to see Andrew Bird perform tracks from his forthcoming album? And to church in Amsterdam I went last night to see the mighty man in the flesh.  It is impossible to describe what an amazing live performer he is. As soon as I heard he was playing in this little church in Amsterdam I told every music fan I know not to miss it and unfortunately not one went. It’s hard to blame them as it is so incredibly hard to describe what he does without it sounding slightly nerdish. The opposite is true though – he is by far and away one of the best live performers I have ever seen, displaying skills and talent greater than most everyone I have ever witnessed make live music. 

He is one performer I think everyone should try and see at least once – he is truly spellbinding. He builds up the enormous sounds he makes by recording live, and looping at various intervals, the sounds of him plucking violin strings (which usually makes the rhythm – sounding like a cross between a piano and a banjo), playing dizzy violin patterns, clapping, whistling and of course singing. The result is the very best one-man-band on earth. It is simply stunning to watch such beautiful music being born right in front of you till the climax is this wall of incredible music that has been created in mere minutes before your very eyes.

The new songs which will feature on his new album out in January sounded magnificent. My favourites being Fitz and the Dizzy Spells and Anonanimal. You can catch a stream of the first song Oh No from the new album on his website here.

6 responses to “Andrew Bird, De Duif, Amsterdam 25 November 2008

  1. Swoon. Sounds like a lovely evening was had. Will be stampeding to the box office the second he announces an Irish date…

  2. You won’t regret it. Thanks again for the tip 🙂

  3. I would kill to see him live.

  4. I was also at the show last night, absolutely loved it (it’s my 3rd or 4th time seeing him live). I brought a friend who had only listened to one song of his, but she is a new fan now.

  5. WEB SHERIFF
    Protecting Your Rights on the Internet
    Tel 44-(0)208-323 8013
    Fax 44-(0)208 323 8080
    websheriff@websheriff.com
    http://www.websheriff.com

    Hi Conor,

    On behalf of Fat Possum Records and Andrew Bird, many thanks for plugging “Noble Beast” (street date 27th January) … .. thanks, also, on behalf of the label and artist for not posting any pirate links to unreleased (studio) material and, if you / your readers want good quality, non-pirated, preview tracks, “Oh No” is available for fans and bloggers to link to / post / host etc via Pitchfork – http://www.pitchforkmedia.com/article/download/146200-premiere-andrew-bird-oh-no-stream … .. also check-out the artist’s MySpace – http://www.myspace.com/andrewbird and http://www.andrewbird.net for details on “Noble Beast” and the artist’s 2008/09 shows … .. you can also view official Andrew Bird videos at http://www.youtube.com/andrewbirdmusic and, for details of further preview material and pre-release promotions, keep an eye on these official sources.

    Thanks again for your plug.

    Regards,

    WEB SHERIFF

  6. Miquel Ballester

    I went as well to that concert. And I think you did a very good approach to what Andrew Bird´s music is.
    A music that is so difficult to explain, categorize, box, label… That is absolutely unexplainable.

    The beats feel so good in my heart, the waves that I can even smell, the dance of harmonic chaos of instruments, the movement of the violin bow, and how he whistles.

    I cried very few times in my live. Andrew Bird´s concerts make me do it every time.

Leave a comment